Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blending Stale Petrol with Waste Oil

Blending Stale Petrol with Waste Oil to Make Alternative Diesel Fuel.1
    Making waste oil blend Diesel Fuel (WOBDF) by blending stale petrol at 90% with waste vegetable oil (WVO) at 10%
    Blending Stale Gasoline with Waste Oil to Make Alternative Diesel Fuel.1 - YouTube

Re: Blending Stale Petrol with Waste Oil

I'm amazed. This is an unexpected result. I'd have thought the solution wouldn't have separated. Has a similar test with fresh petrol at 90% been done for direct comparison? Actually, I'd expected an engine to barely run with 10% oil.
    This result tests assumptions.

Comment

Yes, tbird650, I made a sample of petrol and WVO that I left on a shelf for 2 years without it separating; and I have been blending for 5 years, so I know petrol does not separate from any waste oil I have blended with it. So, I was surprised to find that my sample of stale petrol would not blend with WVO. In fact I have worked pretty hard on it for about 2 months, and finally got it to work at about 20% with a co-solvent; however, it might have destroyed my injector pump. So watch for more videos to come on this subject.

While I would agree with you that a 90% petrol blend might not run for long in a diesel engine, stale petrol is pretty viscous with oils, so it might run straight, except for the problem that it might not blend with waste oils, but it will blend with petrol, so I assume it will blend with other petroleum distillates, such as diesel fuel, but that assumption should be tested before dumping it into the fuel tank.
      Jeffrey S. Brooks
      Banned
      Last edited by Jeffrey S. Brooks; 30 October 2011, 02:25 AM.

Comment

It turns out my IP is fine, but there was a component in my later blends with stale petrol that was retarding ignition. Here is another video on further experiments with stale petrol: