Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does gasoline remain dissolved in waste oil blend diesel fuel?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does gasoline remain dissolved in waste oil blend diesel fuel?

There seems to be some confusion as to the mechanism that distributes the components throughout the medium of a solution.

A demonstration of diffusion as used in blending waste oils into diesel fuel
    Does gasoline remain dissolved in waste oil blend diesel fuel? - YouTube

Re: Does gasoline remain dissolved in waste oil blend diesel fuel?

Hi Jeffrey,I watched your video with interest. I am only going to comment on the portion concerning mixing petrol with WVO because I have no intrest or knowledge using WMO.

At time point 4:28 you add 200ml petrol to about a litre of WVO and you can clearly see the refraction distortions/turbulence that frequently occur when two liquids are mixed together.
    At time point 5:16 you say "They seem to have gone one into each other and Ihaven"t even seen any turbulence and they are now uniform"
    This is not a correct statement. From the point of your adding the petrol to the WVO you could see the "turbulence" caused by refraction distortion that often occurres when two liquids are mixed together. At time point 5:16 while you were making that statement you could still clearly see refraction distortions occurring in the bottle which is a sure sign that at that point the mixture was not uniform

At about time point 7:20 you said the mix had now sat for about 24 hours and there was no sign that the gasoline had separated from the Vegetable oil.
    More importantly There was also no sign that the gasoline had ever thoroughly mixed with the vegetable oil. All that you would have had to do is tilt the bottle back and forth and check for the swirling refraction distortions.