Wanting to set up a filtering system for blending

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanting to set up a filtering system for blending

I'm just getting into the wvo scene, got an '86 F250 and work at a restaurant that is giving me all of their used oil. I've decided that for now I'm going to be blending, using the blend in one tank and then switching to the other one to purge with diesel, in case it gets too cold this winter.

Thinking about how to go about filtering, I don't have a whole lot of money so would like to keep it simple and cheap, probably not going to get any of the inline setups. Was thinking about bag filters, how many would I need and are there any plans for a contained setup that uses bag filters, like 5 gallon buckets stacked on top of eachother or something similar?

Also I'm glad I found this forum, will probably be spending a lot of time on here.

Zac

Re: Wanting to set up a filtering system for blending

Zac,
    Welcome to the forum, there is plenty of information here for you to find. Use Google to search within this site (add "Site:.bioduelsforum.com" to the search line in Google) so that your search is confined here.

I have been filtering used cooking oil for my WVO cars for around 12 years now and have found that bag filters are the simplest filtering method. Use gravity to force the oil thru the filter, fill the bag up morning and night and the oil will continue to flow.
    If your oil has some tallow or palm oil (AKA Fats) in it, you will find the filtering will slow down as the fats build p in the filter bag. You are concerned about low temperature operation, so it is best to filter out the fats so that they do not get into the fuel tank.

Search for "filter liner" to see how I deal with the fats in my filters.
    Search for "upflow settling" to see how some other members here separate the fats from the oil.

Google is your friend on this forum.

Best wishes,
    Tony