PDA

View Full Version : Cloudy oil

Bilby
27th April 2013, 09:24 PM
I'm new to making biodiesel and am having some problems. I've titrated my use fry oil at 8ml and 9ml. I've been told to aim to find oil that titrats under 6, so I have very dirty oil. For some reason the first 30L looked good so I put it in my ute. The second round has stayed cloudy and might actually be getting worse the more I wash it (about 6 times so far).I'm confidant I got the methinol castic soda mix right because when I titrated it again the mix went magenta instantly. What is the cloudiness from?

tillyfromparadise
27th April 2013, 11:00 PM
Hi Bilby,
Welcome to the forum.
The cloudiness will almost certainly be from water.

Bilby
28th April 2013, 08:23 AM
Thanks Tilly

I heated the cloudy biodiesel on the stove yesturday and kept it at 60-70C for at least half hour. This morning it hasn't cleared. Can you tell me what to do to clear it?

tillyfromparadise
28th April 2013, 09:30 AM
Hi Bilby,
If I am trying to dry 30 litres of biodiesel I bubble air through it using an aquarium air pump. I tie a weight to the end of the plastic hose and drop the weighted end of the hose to the bottom of the pail.
Be sure to have the pump above the top of the biodiesel and remove the hose from the biodiesel when you turn the pump off. Most aquarium pumps are not biodiesel compatible.

Bilby
28th April 2013, 03:20 PM
Thanks Tilly

Can you now tell me how I'll know if the biodiesel is good to put into my ute? I'm assuming colour or lack thereof isn't everything.

craigcurtin
28th April 2013, 06:12 PM