Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoke on start-up

Here goes my first post

I have been using Bio for 6 Months that i make myself.

Can any one tell me if their car blows a small amount of smoke (white) on start-up at below 15 degrees?

My oil titrates at 5.5 and run B100 Toyota Prado 2000

Re: Smoke on start-up

Yes. We have been running home brew B100 in my wifes 2.8 turbo Delica for only a few days.
    I documented the starting habits at different temps from mid winter through to now on PetroDiesel.(-7 to 14deg) The starting seems to be about the same (10 to 14 deg ) so far but there is definitely more white smoke at start up and it spluttered a bit more at 10deg. (2 or 3 seconds longer) On petroDiesel it would have a small puff of blackish smoke and idle smoother sooner.
    I took it out the other day and gave it a hard push and there was no black smoke that I could see whereas on petroDiesel it would smoke a bit, just enough to notice it.

Cheers, Chris
    96 Mitsubishi Delica Jasper SOLD [piece of junk]
    93 1HDT Landcruiser SOLD [still going strong]
    90 1HDT Landcruiser Current
    Combined total of 380,000kms on Bio Diesel with no problems related to bio.

Comment

Thats good i'll keep running as i have been, after all it is cheep? thanks for the info.

Comment

Hi Chipmobile, I almost signed up with Chipboy as someone once named me, anyway your Toyota is most likely overfuelling a bit to get a solid start as does my landcruiser which lets out a GOOD cloud on starting, black on mineral diesel (not seen for 3 years thankfully) and a a grey / white on bio. It smokes whislt cold but once hot there is nothing to be seen. Your prado should be similar. If you cannot see anything noticeable then its good.

Matt
        Biodiesel Bandit

Landcruiser '98 80 series B100.

Comment