Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you run a diesel jeep on avtur? (the old jet-a1)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can you run a diesel jeep on avtur? (the old jet-a1)

Hi, im a newbie here and was wondering if you could run a an 05 diesel jeep on Avtur (the old Jet-a1)?

Re: Can you run a diesel jeep on avtur? (the old jet-a1)

Hello socialclimber
    The Quick Answer is yes, however with certain caveats.

Jet-A1 is made from the Kerosene cut when refining crude oil, the same as lighting Kerosene, #1 Fuel Oil and #1 diesel. #1 Diesel is typically only used in very cold weather because litre for litre it contains less energy than #2 Diesel. #1 Diesel is common in Canada, Alaska and Some parts of the the "Lower" 48 US States during winter months.
    An exception to this is that some bus companies in the US do use #1 Diesel year round because it is apparently more "Responsive" to RPM changes.

Before the recent Advent of Low Sulphur diesel fuels In the USA, most Kerosene type fuels typically came from the refinery as the same product and depending on what it was to be used for different additives might be added. I suspect they do the same thing in Australian Refineries but have no proof.

In the USA they actually use Jet A for domestic flights which is a kerosene fuel that has a freeze point of -40deg C instead of the -47deg C of Jet-A1. This allows the US refineries to squeeze a few more percent of Jet Fuel/Kerosene out of a barrel of Crude.

Jet-A1 will almost certainly not contain a lubricant so one would need to add a lubricant if one wanted to use it as a Diesel Motor fuel. A Canadian University did some tests with Unaddatized #1 Diesel/Kerosene (Jet-A1) and found that adding 2% biodiesel increased it's lubricity to that of high sulphur #2 Diesel.