Common rail diesel injection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Common rail diesel injection

Hi - I am a newbie to the forum. Has anybody out there been using BD100 in a new generation high pressure common rail diesel engine, as used by most diesel vehicles from 2005 on? e.g. Peugeot HDi, Mercedes CDi, New Ford Transit Duratorque, Renault DCi etc.

As you would expect, the makers of these engines say that biodiesel should not be used and will void any warranty but they are not specific as to what damage, if any, could be caused.

I have been running my old 1999 Ford Transit 2.5Di on BD100 for 40,000 miles with no problems other than I had to have the seals in the pump replaced with Viton seals. At some stage I will have to replace the vehicle with a brand new model; hence my question.

Re: Common rail diesel injection

Hi gtemco,

Someone was only asking a couple of days ago about using biodiesel in a Ford Transit van...

As for common rail, there is something in the warning about the use of bio in a common rail engine, but not what the manufacturers would have you believe. In a common rail, fuel can be exposed to higher temperatures and more recirculation than otherwise. The fuel that is in the rail gets up to 100°C and most of this does not get injected, but recirculated back to the tank, where it has the chance to be exposed to air again. This increases the chance that it might oxidise.
    Now, biodiesel that meets spec will have a very high oxidation stability, meaning that it takes a long time before it can go bad. In a common rail system, the speed that oxidation can happen is increased, or the time at which it can resist is decreased. This is not a concern if your biodiesel meets spec, but if not, then it could be an issue.
    This does not seem to prevent manufacturers telling you that biodiesel is not suitable because of common rail. Fortunately, you are better informed than just to blank it out.