Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steel Jerry Can under bonnet as start up/Shut down

Hi,

I've installed a 10l steel jerry can under the bonnet of my 1989 HJ61 Landcruiser to use as a start up shut down tank. I've been using vege blends for 18 months and decided to move to the proper 2 tank setup and reduce my blending.

I wanted to be able to remove the jerry can easily for filling, and working on the engine, so mounted it in it's matching off the shelf ProQuip Jerry can holder.

Prior to this project, I spent ages moving the air filter from the drivers side of the engine bay to close to the firewall on the pax side, rerouting the turbo inlet at the same time. I had to do this to create space for a jerry can - the 12HT and plumbing take up much more of the engine bay than a 2H.

I came across a quick connect setup in a 25l boat fuel tank that came complete with fuel guage and fuel pickup. I bought two new quick connect fittings female fittings and a new male brass quick connect that I screwed into a nut I brazed onto the jerry can for the return line. This means I just unplug the lines, unlatch the jerry can and lift it out. I couldn't bear the thought of running a plastic diesel tank under the bonnet as Dagwill has http://www.biofuelsforum.com/svo_use...iser_hj60.html I also didn't feel right pulling up to a servo and sticking a fuel hose under the bonnet - bound to attract the wrong sort of attention.

I installed a Pollack six port with a lead of around 150mm from the Pollack to the lift pump and fuel takes 7 seconds to go from the Pollack to the start of the IP - with a full purge taking less than a minute.

Normal setup on a Landcruiser has the
    lift pump,
    spin on filter,
    IP
    so the spin on filter is under pressure from the lift pump.

To decrease purge times, I now have:
    vege tank,
    looped return input,
    squeezy rubber primer from a boat shop,
    main spin on filter,