X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• making bio diesel

hi guys,
    im very new to this scene about making the fuel etc
    i have made a small batch using wvo started with 4gms caustic & 20% methanol.i never heated oil i let it settle for a few hours and had glycerine on the bottom.i washed it before draining glycerine out and ended up with orange juice like stuff which settled out overnight... the end result was amber fuel but was cloudy and ph was 8.3..
    what am i doing wrong is ph too high
    should i nitrate & how do i
    i have heated the oil on another sample & have had a bad experience
    explosion burns to my face etc
    not put off by this as they were minor
    however i am nervous about heating to remove water from the oil
    can someone give advice
    regards glen

Re: making bio diesel

Hi Glen,
    some good advice for you is to do some more reading before trying anything again. If you've burnt your face then you could well have blinded your self. Your very lucky.

Sounds like there was nothign wrong with your first lot except it needed to be washed/settled. What is nitrate?

How did you do the ph test? Ph tests on bio is unreliable. You should wash it with some water and them measure the PH of the water.

I'm a bit reluctant to tell you to do too much incase you go and hurt your self again. It sounds like you need to spend some quality time reading about safety and how to do it all properly. Noone can tell you that. You must read and learn it .

Also how hot did you make the oil. You need only heat it to 60degrees and allow the oil/water to seperate over 24 hours. If you are going to boil the water off it will spit.

Sorry about your injury and about not being to helpful but you have learned a valuable lesson and you are lucky.

Joe
    Last edited by joe; 7 June 2006, 09:08 AM.
    Joe Morgan
    Brisbane Biodiesel Site Admin
    http://www.brisbanebiodiesel.com

Searching tips using Google - SVO Dual tank systems