Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is a 3,600W element to powerful in a biodiesel reactor?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is a 3,600W element to powerful in a biodiesel reactor?

G'day mates,

I'm just getting started getting my gear together, it's taken me a bit of time but I finaly found a 250L Rheem electrical water heater and I have been told that the 3,600W element in the 250L water heater is to powerful for a reactor and I should buy a 1,800W element to replace the 3,600W element, is this true?

I have a couple of spare 15amp points that I can plug the 3,600W reactor into, so I don't need to use a 10amp plug as could be used with the less powerful 1,800W element.

Thanking you in advance for any advice on getting my reactor right.

Bill
    Who says you can't teach old dogs new tricks?
    This old dog has been learning new tricks for years and...
    I hope I can continue to do so!:cool:

Re: Is a 3,600W element too powerful in a biodiesel reactor?

Kando, my thoughts are that it should be ok but that is a lot of power/ heat/ current to be working with. Build in some safe guards to ensure the element is never on without being covered with sufficient oil to prevent a fire or burning out. Actually that should apply to all processors too.
    I have made an electronic temperature controller with a display panel to show the oil temperature so I can see that the temperature is right for reacting and the panel also has a switch to turn off the heater and a large indicator lamp showing when the element is on.
    Your element will draw 15 amps leaving no spare current for anything else to run on that circuit and you will have to run your pump from another power circuit if you don't want to blow fuses.
    Peter

Comment

Re: Is a 3,600W element to powerful in a biodiesel reactor?