Toyota Hilux 2003 Turbo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toyota Hilux 2003 Turbo

Good Day all, i am very new to this and just as exited at the prospect of saving money. I have several questions id like ask. Does any one know of any compatability issues with this car and BioDiesel. The other question is where i can i buy ready mixed fuel in Sydney Australia. I would like to make my own someday. first things first.

Thanks in advance to all you read this.

Re: Toyota Hilux 2003 Turbo

Hi TheFuzz, and welcome to the forums. I don't have any personal experience of Biodiesel yet, but from what I've read here (and in other places) you can run any diesel engine on any mix of biodiesel, right up to B100 (in spite of what some manufacturers might say).

There are three things to be aware of when converting to bio:
    1. Biodiesel is an excellent solvent. As a result it will disolve all the gunk left over from dinodiesel in your tank, which can end up clogging your fuel filter. So you may have to change the filter a couple of times after a few weeks/months.
    2. Biodiesel can cause natural rubber to soften and deteriorate. Almost all modern vehicles (mid-90s onwards I think) should not have any natural rubber hoses as ULS Diesel also causes it to deteriorate (although it has the opposite effect of making it brittle). But it's something you might need to check, and replace any rubber fuel lines with viton.
    3. Biodiesel starts to get viscous at higher temps than dino, something like 4-5 degrees C. So you might want to mix it with dino at this time of year to avoid cold starting problems.

So do your research, read around in these forums (there are plenty of other posts on this exact subject here) and go for it! There should be no reason you can't use bio in you Hilux that I can see.
    Sean

Comment