Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another biodiesel newbie needs help!

Hi all!

I'm very new to biodiesel, but I've also been reading as much as I can on the subject. I purchased supplies to make a test batch using the Dr. Pepper method, and I'm not sure if my 1 litre sample is coming out as it should.

Here's what I used:

-1L unused canola oil
    -250ml methanol (from Whitey's)
    -7 grams of 98% caustic soda

So, I mixed the methanol and caustic soda together, until I couldn't see any more granules of soda. Then, I added the oil (heated to about 50c) to my "Dr. Pepper" bottle, and finally, added the methoxide.

After vigorous shaking, and a few minutes of waiting, I saw a layer of glycerol forming on the bottom. After about 16 hours, the layer is about 1 inch thick. The oil above that layer is cloudy, which is what has me concerned. I've read that it takes a while for the biodiesel to settle, but exactly how long should I wait before acknowledging that I've failed?

I've attached a photo of my sample-Have I done something wrong?

On another subject- Since I'm incapable of making my own appleseed processor, I've been looking at various ones that are on the market. I've read bad things about the Fuelmeister, and, since I'm looking for a processor in Australia, I was checking out the (expensive) Biomaster, from Bioworks.com.au. This processor looks like it suffers from some of the same shortcomings as the fuelmeister- made of plastic, and doesn't seem to come with a method of heating the oil externally.

So, does anyone know of anyone selling quality processors in Australia? I've messaged Oily about his, and am awaiting his reply. Is there anyone else?

Thanks,

Justin

Re: Another biodiesel newbie needs help!

I'd suggest you didn't mix for long enough as you have followed the other directions to the letter.