experience with animal fat?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• experience with animal fat?

hello all, i am trying to learn more about converting animal fats into useable fuel for a heating system/cars at a small slaughter house in vermont. does anyone have any experience using rendered fat instead of wvo? can fat just replace wvo in the standard recipe or what? i am still very new to this (obviously) but the slaughter house has a near endless supply of fat that we all excited about turning into fuel...any help would be wonderful!
    thanks,
    jamie

Re: experience with animal fat?

Tallow makes a great biodiesel. You use the same technique as for WVO, except it is slightly easier to make because the FFA is lower (less soap to contend with). The biodiesel comes out a pretty yellow colour. The smell when it burns isn't all that great as it has an 'animal fat' kind of smell. It has a high cetane and more energy per litre than vegetable biodiesel.

Now the bad part. Tallow biodiesel will gel (go solid) at about 17C. When it gells it looks like white plastic. You can get around this problem with blending of other vegetable biodiesel. I was blending tallow biodiesel with coconut biodiesel (-9C) and the improvement in gel point was well worth it.

You can also blend with petrol diesel (#1, ie:kerosine). The Irish did some research back in the 90's on blending with petrol diesel and found for their environment that a 50% blend of animal fat biodiesel with 50% petrol diesel worked for their environment during the winter. You may find the same situation in Vermont.

Since you have access to all that tallow, you would be a fool not to take advantage of it. Just do it!
    Terry Syd
    Last edited by Terry Syd; 13 August 2006, 09:33 AM.

Comment

What a timely Post!
      I have just secured a couple of sources of what seems to be good used tallow and was wondering about it's value as Bio feedstock.