Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Collecting Frytol oil

Hi all,

I have located a source of oil - the guy is wanting me to pay $50 for a 205lt drum, (25c/lt). The oil is Frytol, which is beef tallow, I believe. He has just taken over the business and says that he changes the oil regularly. He also says that he has others interested in picking up the oil. I have not done a titration on it yet as I don't have the materials.

1. Should I pay this much for oil?
    2. If the oil titrates well, is beef tallow going to be a good feedstock? (I am aware of the lower gel point issue - this is not a prob, I'm more concerned with having to preheat and treat the tallow)
    3. This guy wants a regular collector, but this is my first attempt at sourcing oil. Should I do a deal with him now and tie up the supply before someone else gets in, or should I shop around?

Any comments appreciated.

GM
    Change the world, one diesel engine at a time...:D

Re: Collecting Frytol oil

I secured about 100L a week of this Frytol from a local fish and chip shop just last week.

The stuff I get comes in the original tins and has a layer of crud on the bottom about 4 inches deep on the bottom of every tin and they change the oil every day. I scrape the fat off the top till I get to the crud layer and then heat it over a fire in one of the frytol tins to melt the fat to filter it. I throw the crud on the fire which burns quite well and cuts down on the amount of wood I have to use to melt the stuff. I clean the tins with some glycerin and put the clean fat back in these after filtering through a layer of fabric.

To process 80 liters of the stuff this way before you even get to making bio out of it is messy and time consuming and requires a lot of heat.
    Once the fat has cooled it is quite solid but still soft.