Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brand new (Adelaidean) to the game!

Hello everyone,

My name is Kieron, I'm an Environmental Scientist here in Adelaide South Australia - working on air pollution monitoring and control in South Australian towns where there are huge pollution problems, no need to name them all here though!

Anyway, whilst dealing with pollution etc, I have been thinking for a long time about my responsibilities as a environmentally and economically aware citizen, especially about alternative fuels, both for home use and transport. I have dropped in to this and other biodiesel forums from time to time to see what is happening in the field.

Now I think I should do something.

I've got a few things I'm thinking about, some of which you all may relate to also.

First of all, I am P-d off about the (in)voluntary licencing of home-brew biodiesel producers for the ATO etc.

Next, I want to get hold of a diesel motor and put it into a small car or a wagon, maybe a gemini diesel wagon???? Another option is a mazda or ford 2ltr turbo diesel motor in a nissan pintara wagon ( I have previously owned a pintara and am comfortable with pulling the running gear out and replacing it. All I'd need are modified engine-gearbox mounts, turbo exhaust, etc etc...)

Thirdly, I want to try to make and use bio-dies-ahol.....

What the..... I hear some say? Well, I have this idea that the inclusion of 15 to 35% (m)ethanol in biodiesel, taking into consideration the 30% reduction in the energy to mass issue, would increase oxygenation of the diesel burning process and increase the cetane octane level of the fuel - hopefully increasing the fuel economy......

Just an idea, may not work, never know until we try!

And another thing is a meet up of like minded individuals to discuss ideas, face to face with a beer or two, and to maybe get an increased awareness of possibilites of all these alternatives the mainstream public have no idea of.