PDA

View Full Version : New and stumbling

wheelbarrow
13th May 2010, 01:01 PM
Hi Guys

This has been some realy interesting reading and keen to get into it.

Maybe I should have put this in the intro section, but I'm sure someone will move it if they thing so.

Only just picked up an old diesel 4x4 Hilux to play with and with the price of diesel not getting any cheaper I'm looking forward to being that little bit more self sufficient with biodiesel, hand cleaner and fertilizer.

Just like most things taking that first step can be a bit daunting.

I see the brisbane branch has been rather quiet in the forum and I realy hope there is someone still out there that could give me some guidance in the intracacies of the boidiesel process.

I'm a hands on type of person and learn best when doing something, probably just a male thing or even the typical tradesman/hands on type person.

Just for a bit of background, I'm a motor mechanic by trade, but haven't got my hands dirty for too many years except for family and friends (gotta love a friend in need). In IT now, cos I can spell it. :rolleyes: Ergo love forums and the wealth of knowledge gained from then.

Anyway back on topic.

Its been over a month now reading stuff here and journeytoforever. Had the 1 litre of clean vegy oil sitting on the breakfast bar for a week. Got the day off and was going out today to get some KOH and Methanol. Still gotta source some containers and stuff to get moving with this.

Been ringing around chemical suppliers around the southside and haven't been able to find anyone that carries KOH. Anyone know where I could get some in small quantities? Looked at the Mechanix caustic soda tub at woolies and read it was NaOH and it gives no indication of the purity.

Just read the bit on titration properly, nice to see its not all a guessing game with how much ingredience you need to use. But will need to look into this a little further.