Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pros and cons of blending veg oil

G'day all members,
    I think we need to develop a thread with what really works with blending veg oil and what doesen't.
    I believe most members who have blended may have stopped for some reason Why ?
    everyone who has experianced "blends" regardless how long should contribute there findings and experiances to help others.

it would be intresting to know the type of car,how it was set up what worked and didn't,things you found along the way and how long you stuck at it.

I think we will stick to what is most common blends wvo,petrol,diesel.

Cheers Anthony

Re: pros and cons of blending veg oil

Anthony,
    Great idea.
    I have been blending veggie and biodiesel for about 8 years for my wife's cars (she does not want to change switches at particular times in her journeys).
    During winter I did a 50:50 veg:bio mix and in summer a 75:25 veg:bio mix.

Since buying a W124 300D, from a friend who used a 85:15 veg:ULP blend for many years, I have changed the proportions to 80:10:10 veg:bio:ULP. As I am low on bio at the moment, the proportions are 90:10 veg:ULP with no issues.

What has been done to the fuel system?
    The W124 300D has a small fuel heater installed for countries where sub zero temperatures are likely. It is thermostatically controlled to come on at low (<10 degrees C) to prevent filter plugging from cloudy diesel.
    All I have done, is to remove the thermostat and reconnect the fuel heater in-line before the fuel pump, so it is active at all times.
    I doubt that this heater would increase the temperature of the fuel by much (+20 deg max) and it does not seem to cause any vapour lock issues with the ULP in the blend.

I hope this is of use to other members,
    Tony
    Tony From West Oz
    Vice Chairperson of WARFA
    Last edited by Tony From West Oz; 8 March 2012, 11:22 PM.