Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Driving a Diesel - Best Practice?

Hi All,
    another newbie question... I'm new to the whole concept of driving a diesel car and I was wondering if I should be doing anything in particular to "take care" of the engine while driving.
    For example, should I let the car idle to warm up for a period before driving for the day (I'm running just one tank on B100)?
    I have an older engine ('83 Landcruiser 2H) which I'm assuming has mechanically timed and metered injection (ie no computers)... from what I can understand there would be no fuel saving if I were to use compression braking when slowing down... in that case, should I just put it in neutral and use the brakes? Would this be better for engine longevity also?
    Is there an ideal RPM for diesel engines? How far should I push the RPM before changing gears?
    Any info or tips would be appreciated,
    Jono

---
    1983 Landcruiser HJ60 2H - 408,000kms, 270kms on B90

Re: Driving a Diesel - Best Practice?

Mate I am no mechanic, but I have learnt a thing or two.

When you look at the torque and power curves of a 2H you will see that torque peaks quite low at around 2000 rpm, but power peaks at around 3500 rpm.

When you are changing up and accelerating hard (ish) you want the engine to be delivering decent torque values when you let the clutch out, which will assist until the engine starts delivering more power as the revs climb. The gearbox on your engine is designed to do this, and if you change at around 3000 to 3200 on the way up, you will see that you should be around 1800-2000 in the next gear when you let the clutch out, which is in the sweet spot for the torque value. This is especially relevant when towing or climbing a hill. When changing down to climb a hill, change down at about 2000, as this will put you back on the power curve in the lower gear.