Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WVO Upflow Design ok?

Hi all

I'm looking at an upflow design as it seems to be the easiest and uses little power for clean WVO.

This design is pretty much from the VegOilGuy on the tube.

Is there anything that I need to change or could be a concern in use?

I'm a noob at this so would like some feedback before I muck something up that I didn't foresee.

Will be using 200l blue plastic drums

Veg Oil Guy in his vid says to use clean oil in the settling tank initially, however as long as I let the first lot settle for 2 weeks it should be good to start adding more yes?

A 5 micron filter bag inside a 1micron filter bag will be in the filter tank for filter purposes.

The system will be raised off the ground

Will also have a ball valve inbetween the header tank and settling tank to slow the flow to a wee trickle to keep the settling tank from being stirred up.

Also the upflow setup will unfortunately be up to 15-20m away from the vehicle for filling up, are jerry cans here the best option or can a hose still be run that far ok, or is there a better method?

Ease of use and clean fuel is number one.

Thoughts?

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1080270.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	191.5 KB
ID:	94854

Re: WVO Upflow Design ok?

Click image for larger version

Name:	Upflow settling arrangement.png
Views:	2
Size:	11.1 KB
ID:	94651
    This is my up-flow settling system. The 3 drums are steel 200L drums. All in-tank piping is polythene. Inter-tank piping is food grade vinyl tubing with hose clamps. The oil is pumped to the header tank (2/3 of 60L drum with an insect mesh screen to catch the solid bits first). Not shown is a valve between the header tank and Settling Tank 1 which could be used to isolate the header tank. I have never used it .