need to get a new truck

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need to get a new truck

Alas my 86 toyota 4runner just died... well i mean that i have been quoted 2500 to fix the low compression problem in the third cylinder so am trying to flog it for parts or get it wrecked.

this leaves me needing a new truck. My question:

I will likely get a toyota again (but am open to others) - at what point do engines become too complicated to drive on oil? My previous set up was waste vege oil and diesel in two tanks.

Obviously i want to buy a car that i can run on veg again and am just thinking about engines etc and an easy convert : )

any suggestions for good converts for someone new to veg would be great. I work as a chippy so i need a truck or ute .

thanks

Anj

Re: need to get a new truck

If you had a good run from your Toyota, why not get another one. You know them well and your kit will just bolt up to the new vehicle. You will even have 99% spares from your old car (if you keep it).
    Life is a journey, with problems to solve, lessons to learn, but most of all, experiences to enjoy.

Current Vehicles in stable:
    '06 Musso Sports 4X4 Manual Crew Cab tray back.
    '04 Rexton 4X4 Automatic SUV
    '2014 Toyota Prius (on ULP) - Wife's car

Previous Vehicles:
    '90 Mazda Capella. (2000 - 2003) My first Fatmobile. Converted to fun on veggie oil with a 2 tank setup.
    '80 Mercedes 300D. 2 tank conversion [Sold]
    '84 Mercedes 300D. 1 tank, no conversion. Replaced engine with rebuilt OM617A turbodiesel engine. Finally had good power. Engine donor for W123 coupe. (body parted out and carcass sold for scrap.)
    '85 Mercedes Benz W123 300CD Turbodiesel
    '99 Mercedes W202 C250 Turbodiesel (my darling Wife's car)[sold]
    '98 Mercedes W202 C250 Turbodiesel (my car)[sold]
    '06 Musso Sports Crew Cab well body. [Head gasket blew!]
    '04 Rexton SUV 2.9L Turbodiesel same as Musso - Our Family car.