Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problem with Pug

Problem with Pug

I have a problem with my Peugeot 406 that is probably BD induced.

I had been running it for a couple of months on B100 and it was running fine. Then I had to put it into my mechanic for a new radiator and a new AC compressor. Because I told him I was in no hurry, and he was having difficulty sourcing an AC compressor anyway, it was sitting there for about 4 months.

Now that I finally got it back (still sans AC compressor) the poor thing hardly runs. It starts ok and runs fine up until about 2500RPM and then it just starts running rough and blowing smoke out the back, which it never did before.

Any ideas what the problem may be? I have mostly run BD on Toyos, Mitsis and Mercs, so pugs are a bit of a mystery to me. The obvious thing to me is that the injectors are gummed up somehow, and they aren't atomising the fuel properly, hence the power loss and smoke.

Any ideas? Also, if this was the problem, how easy a fix would it be?

TIA

Re: Problem with Pug

The 406 had a few different engines is it the 2.1 with the lucas pump, or the 2.0 HDI or something else?

Quote Originally Posted by smithw View Post
    The 406 had a few different engines is it the 2.1 with the lucas pump, or the 2.0 HDI or something else?
    It's the HDI. The bloke that I sold it to, who apparently knew a lot about them, said the turbo was gone. Makes sense - it ran fine up until the tuurbo came on boost and that's when the problems started. Anyhow it's an SEP now, particularly the cost of parts if he needs them - a full set of injectors for one of these things starts at $1800, whereas a full set for a 1HZ (which of course is 6 not 4) is only around $500. I'll never say Toyota parts are expensive again

I would think it would be more likely that the in tank fuel pump is running low pressure..