Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Processing rice bran oil?

Processing rice bran oil?

Hi there folks.

Just joined these pages after doing a little research into bio diesel and also experimenting with a hydrogen or 'joe cell' to boost engine performance...

Seems like i need to get my hands on some KOH for use as an electrolyte... baking soda is a nono apparantly...

Still a newbie in these endeavors but hungry to learn more.

I work as a chef and go through many litres of rice bran oil a week. Would be awesome to turn this into fuel for my 4wd.

What do i need to begin this process?

Cheers.

Re: Processing rice bran oil?

Concentrate on the biodiesel from your rice bran oil. It will easily give you a fuel you can use in your diesel vehicle.

Leave the "Joe Cell" for when you have plenty of time and money to waste. You should then be able to invest in Brown's Gas and perpetual motion projects.

Tony

Yeah cool. The joe cell is bit of fun but maybe will work...

Where would you recommend a complete newbie start off? Can you recommend any recipes or sites with easy to follow directions for biodiesel?

Cheers.

This site, has lots of good information. Easy to follow and has step by step instructions to help you create your very first mini batch.

Yeah awesome thats got some excellent info. I especially like the 55 gallon drum for the wash tank and the carboy methoxide mixer system!

I drive a nissan terrano 1990... this should burn the oil no worries?

How do you dispense your biodiesel?

Cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by digitaldirt View Post
    Yeah awesome thats got some excellent info. I especially like the 55 gallon drum for the wash tank and the carboy methoxide mixer system!
    Start small... one liter batches first until you know what you're doing.

I drive a nissan terrano 1990... this should burn the oil no worries?