Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Landcruiser 100 Series

Landcruiser 100 Series

I'm thinking about buying a Toyota Landcruiser 100 Series 4.2TD and was wondering if anyone has had any experience with is motor running on biodiesel? I had 2 of these in a business I had a few years ago and they are superb motors but have never run BD in one. I've been running BD in my Bravo now for over 2 years and I am confident about making the fuel but have been told that this motor may give problems with BD.
    Thanks
    Peter

Re: Landcruiser 100 Series

Peter
    I haven't heard of anyone running bio in a 1HD-FTE but I cannot see any problems they are pretty robust as you have already stated...

I have been running B100 in my 1HD-T for the past 3 years with no issues.... It would be interesting to know what problems you were told you could have? The only possible place for a issue would be at the electronic fuel pump...
    Also Peter
    HDJ80 (aka Kiwipete)
    Canberra

Hdj80, the observation came from a mechanic friend of mine who has been following my adventures with BD and it was about the landcruiser injector pump (I think). He is still away oh hols but I will follow up when he gets back.
    I am surprised that someone dosen't have one running on BD given the number of these vehicles that are around. Also, given the places around the world that landcruisers are used they would have to be suited to a wide range of fuel types. What is it about the fuel pump that may be a problem in your opinion?
    Thanks
    Peter

The seal's would be the only issue IMO. Although, the 1HZ and 1HD-T pumps that have been overhauled to cope with LSD all run well on bio. Still, there may be a few rubber components in the fuel pump.

The only other issue may be the computer, but after a few tanks it should "learn" to use bio and make the required adjustments to it's operation as it does with dino.
    Maverick
    Canberra