finding WVO in perth?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• finding WVO in perth?

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to the bio making game and have been researching into it quite extensively. I am about to start my first test batches using unused vegetable oil (which cost a little too much per ltr) I was wonder if anyone could let me know how they went about collecting their WVO. I don't really want to purchase it for more than 40cents a litre and free would be even better. Is it a good idea to go straight to the 'fish n chip' shop? I called FAtaway and alba edible oils about getting some of them but they say that there are regulations involved when purchasing WVO from them. any comment will be much appreciated.

PS Narrogin is a little to far for me to go

Re: finding WVO in perth?

biomyown,
    Welcome to the forum.
    I can let you have a 60 litre drum of used cooking oil to let you get started, and there are members of WARFA who may have a surplus of oil from time to time. In general, we are happy to share our oil.

There have been several threads on how to solicit oil from restaurants, lunch bars and Fish & Chip shops. Perhaps you should search for "oil collection", 'oil sources'. etc.

What I have done in the past, is togo to the potential supplier and ask what sort of oil they use for frying and whether is is solid when cold. If they are busy, come back later when they are not busy, then ask them if they have a reliable collection service and whether they have to pay to have it collected.

Let them know that you would like to try to use oit to run your car on the used cooking oil and ask if they can let you have a sample of 10 - 20 litres to try out.

Work to build the relationship and it can work out well for both of you.
    Here are some tips to help you manage the relationship to the benefit of both parties:
    • Be reliable - arrange a regular time and day for the collection
    • Leave the oil storage area cleaner than you found it.