Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GQ Patrol and BD

Hi all
    After several months of research, building a reactor and refining my process I have just completed my first large batch of 130l. I filled my tank up today and have done prob 100kms since. The car seems to be running fine, maybe a bit smoother if anything. Does anyone know if anything other than the norm ie filters needs to be changed or kept an eye on eg timing for 93 GQ patrol.
    I must say it gives you a great sense of satisfaction putting self produced fuel in your car and knowing that now you dont have to reley on greedy multi national blood sucking oil companies. yee hah.
    Took me a while to put it from a thought to pouring BD down my fuel pipe but its worth it in the end, would reccomend it to anyone.

Re: GQ Patrol and BD

Dr J, well done and welcome to the forum.
    Robert.
    Site Admin.

Comment

I have been running mu Patrol GQ 1992for six months now on 50% biodiesel and I have just changed to 100% with no problems. I have been checking my filter regularly and have found a thin black liquid in it which I am guessing is glycerol or carbon I just empty it out clean with som metho and put it back on. We are running bio in three nissan patrols and none have had a problem , but we all carry spare fuel filters just in case. I would add a little metho to the fuel now and again to help burn any water or glycerol in your fuel.

Comment

Originally posted by Maddog View Post
        ..We are running bio in three nissan patrol...
        Maddog,
        What vintage is your oldest Patrol?
        Mine is a 9/89 GQ. I really don't know if it has the fuel hoses and seals which will tolerate BD. It was running on VP blends since August until I picked up B100 from Morris a couple of weeks ago.
        George

Comment

We are running a 1992, 1989 and 1991 and a 1993 with a brunswick diesel in it.
          I have been told that seals prior to 1996 may not tolerate biodiesel.