Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Biodiesel Survey.

Hi!

I'm currently studying the effects of biodiesel. While I recognise the need for standards such as those developed under the ASTM and EN families I feel that these might be a bit extreme. Many of the standards are set with a controlled operating environment in mind. What I'm hoping to do is survey users and collate their experiences into a study relating the "quick checks" small producers use to vehicle failures (and non-failures).

In order to do this I'm trying to survey as many users as possible and will make the results available once the study is complete. If you (Or anyone you know) is keen to participate please contact me at jlseug001@uct.ac.za . I'm also interested in contacting people who used to use biodiesel and now don't. My only affiliation with regard to biodiesel is to the environmental research group at the University of Cape Town so I don't have ulterior motives. My main aim is to potentially (through the survey) show that the engine failure risk (provided a few key parameters are measured) is relatively low. I know that not every producer can afford a Cetane testing rig, or a GC or a Karl Fischer Titrator.

My experience has been as a homebrewer and I've had a failure or two (My learning curve). I've also previously worked for a small producer in Cape Town setting up a pilot plant. One of the problems selling the biodiesel or event getting people to make and use their own was the quality risk issue and that is what got the idea for my project going. Initially I thought of doing it by analytical means but that is just too big, too slow and too expensive. Besides, the only place where one would get the type of cash to fund a study like that would be from the conventional petro-chemical industry or the auto manufacturers. It would be hard for a biodiesel study funded by either (If ever that would happen) to be seen as unbiased.

Cheers
    Eugene
    Robert
    Administrator