• Show
Clear All

• Brown's Gas and two stroke engine's

I have been following the development of bio-diesel as a curiosity for
    a few years.
    As the pilot of a light plane the retrofitting of experimental planes with
    diesel engines in Europe has been interesting. It is been done at the
    commercial level as well.
    I have not heard of anyone using bio-diesel in a plane yet; by that I do not mean "Virgin" mixing a blend of veggie oil, rather using full homemade bio-diesel. Someone will I am sure if the weight and complexity is overcome.
    Stopping on the side of the road is one thing, stopping at 1000' is something
    else.
    HERE is my QUESTION: (I am a total novice in this subject.)
    Has anyone heard of Brown's gas being injected into light two stroke engines?
    Engines without oil injection! If it could be done and without destroying the
    engine, then at the very least my outboard boat might be viable again with the fierce fuel prices.
    I am also interested in bio-diesel for a VW Jetta and possible home electric
    generation.
    Cheers from north of Lake Huron, Ontario Canada.
    Google Earth, "CYEL"
    drh

Re: Brown's Gas and two stroke engine's

The oil in the fuel of a two stroke engine in the lubrication for the cylinder and bearings. What do you propose to use as an alternative?

Please don't use the term "brown's gas". The only thing Yull Brown 'invented', was his results...

What you are referring to is a mixture of hydrogen and oxygen gases in the stoichiometric ratio found in water (2:1).

To develop a two stroke engine to run on this gas would be a massive undertaking. It's hard enough modifying one to run on methanol instead of petrol.

I guess it is possible, and it is something I have considered for 4 stroke ICE's, however:
    a) There is no real environmenta advantage (certainly none over electrical propulsion)