PDA

View Full Version : Hi Everybody ! Newby here ...

pdm.375
5th May 2008, 11:49 PM
Chris posted back in 2006 about who would be willing to buy bio diesel in Melbourne's west - answer I WOULD !

I'm new to bio diesel - so be gentle.

I'm picking up my 1997 Landcruiser HZJ75RP later this week - driving it down from Sydney. It will see predominantly off road use and has 380K kms - all petro diesel. It has a 4.2 litre Toyota 1HZ engine in it.

I want to run it on BD or BD blend.

I've read here that fuel lines may need to be replaced. Are the fuel lines on a 1997 vehicle likely to be OK or a problem ?

For the drive down from Sydney, I was thinking of running it on BD but am concerned about fuel filter blockage - I won't have a spare with me as I will be travelling light. How quickly after starting to use BD will the fuel system clean out ?

Thanks for your words of advice. Looking forward to spending more time online with you all.

Peter.

Tony From West Oz
6th May 2008, 12:07 AM
Peter,

Welcome to the forum, there is plenty to read about biodiesel here.

If you don't have a couple of spare fuel filters, forget travelling long distances on your first tanks of biodiesel. You will find that Murphy's Law does define the likelihood of a fuel blockage as being inversely proportional to your ability to replace the filter.

Many people find that biodiesel will clean out the crud from the diesel fuel tank in 2 or 3 tanks worth of fuel. Some take less, others more.
If you want to use biodiesel fro the trip, buy a number of fuel filters and learn how to replace them on the side of the road.

Perhaps you can get a 20% bio diesel blend and use that, it will not cause any significant cleaning of the diesel tank.

Do a search for "The Biodiesel Station", as I believe that it is one of the best sources of biodiesel in Vic (or NSW or somewhere over East ;) )

Regards,
Tony

pdm.375
6th May 2008, 12:34 PM
Thanks for the advice Tony.