X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ethanol v Meths

Hi,
    I'm new to this biodiesel lark, so please be gentle with me,
    I made some biodiesel from old cooking oil and it didn't work out although the test batch did. The recipe from the book 'From The Fryer to The fuel Tank' says don't use anything other than pure etanol or methanol, my chemical supplier told me that Methelated Spririt is the same as ethanol, my test batch worked fine with it but my big batch (60ltr) turned to solid fat. I know that too much lye results in a solid mass, but could my problem be due to using Methelated Spirit?
    Regards, Joby

Re: Ethanol v Meths

Originally posted by joby View Post
    says don't use anything other than pure etanol or methanol,
    this says it all. methylated sprits IS NOT pure ethanol. i thought the chemical supplier would know bettter.

Methanol should be cheaper anyway so try again.
    anyhow welcome to the forum glad to have another bio man here and goodluck with your bio.
    Cheers
    Nick.
    Harold 2002 Toyota Landcruiser 105 series. 4.2lt turbo glide turbo, Too lazy to make bio nowdays times money. 3'' lift.

Roidio 2001 Holden Rodeo 4x4 2.8L TD. 2.5" exhaust sytem, H/E shower system. 4" Lift, Airbags, And lots of fruit, B100 for 55,000 . SOLD

Elsa 1983 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D. Still The Fastest Merc in Oz, Self built and Female proofed. COUSINS NOW
    sigpic

Comment

There is 5 - 15% water, in most methylated spirits.
      Water promotes soap production.
      It's probable that you have a bucket load of solid soap.
      TroyH
      Last edited by TroyH; 6 July 2008, 06:55 PM.
      Please click below for info on how you can help the victims of spinal injury, or just spread the word.

Comment

Hello Joby, welcome to the forum

You say your test batch worked out? That is interesting.