Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What kind of places use pure vegie oil for cooking

Hi Everybody
    I'm a newbie to biofuel . I've checked all my local fish & chip shops to see what kind of oil they use and get the same response vegie/animal fat blend or 100% animal fat .

Where can i get some pure vegie oil from?

If I went ahead and tried th 50/50 oil fat what kind of probs could i have ?

I'm very keen to be running on a non fossil fuel.

Thanks In Advance
    Marty
    marten
    Biofuels Forum Newbie
    Last edited by marten; 26 July 2006, 11:58 PM.

Re: What kind of places use pure vegie oil for cooking

You've come to the right, place, but I'm not the right person (don't make it myself...yet), however, I can start you with some answers and I'm sure some others will finish off better than me.

Why not just try making a test batch with some pure new oil from your supermarket to start with, get the feel for it that way, then you can compare your results with the used stuff from your local takeaway. Animal fat is OK too, it can give you more power in the fuel, but is more likely to gel (freeze easily) in the cold weather.

Search for the term "dr pepper" there will be folks talking about this lots in here with a link to another forum which has instructions - it's basically making your own small test batch in a soft-drink bottle (please correct me if I'm wrong).

I think you'll be able to tell after you've made some test batches how well the different oils will convert to biodiesel.