PDA

View Full Version : 2.8 Hilux with NO MODIFICATIONS on 95% WVO!!

Sputnick
29th July 2006, 11:26 AM
I started playing with WVO a few months ago...
Initially my WVO Diesel blends were 20%WVO, gradually I've gear up the % of WVO until now I'm at about 90-95% WVO.
I've been experiment with Turps, Metho and Petrol (thanks Gary from Brisbane) as an additive to the WVO, all work OK.
Filtering the WVO is done at room temp..
I'm now collecting 150 - 200l at a time (over a day or 3) the WVO is placed in an old 44 and sits for 5 days, this brings the good stuff to the top and the crap settles on the bottom, I remove the good oil and put the dud stuff on the fire that heats the house.
The good WVO is then filtered 3 times (still at room temp).
The final product is clean, free WVO...

Glenn

Tony From West Oz
29th July 2006, 07:09 PM
Sputnik,
While that may work fine now, what do you think might be the issues you have in 12 months or 3 years down the track?
University tests on diesel engines running on high % vegetable oils have reported severe coking of the top compression rings and of the injector. With IDI engines this was less evident. With heated vegetable oil this was also less evident.

I recommend that you install a second tank and fuel system to handle the oil. Start on diesel and when the engine and veggie are warmed up, then change to veggie. At the end of the trip, change back to diesel and run the engine for a few minutes to purge the veggie to avoid cold oil causing engine coking.

If you do not wish to follow this, then I recommend that you at least add heat to the veggie oil to bring it to ~80 C.

The conversion costs will be recouped in less than 12 months of usage.
Tony

aussie bloke
29th July 2006, 09:06 PM
giday sputnick,