WVO and centrifugal forces

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WVO and centrifugal forces

I have been reading a lot till now about SVO and WVO and my current impression is that running a diesel on new SVO according to certain standards is quite easy while the use of WVO has a few more challenges.

What I didn't find is any information on dealing with WVO using centrifugal forces. Does anybody have experience with this?
    I am a mechanical engineer so far away from chemistry but my general knowledge tells me that centrifugal forces are a very effective way to seperate different parts of liguid and especially solids.

I came accross this idea reading that it is the best to have WVO standing around for some weeks to settle before using it. This should be reduced with centrifugal forces to a few seconds or maybe a minute.

Thought I throw this into the forum in case this might be something for easy improving of WVO. Don't mind designing a simple unit if this method would make sense.

Re: WVO and centrifugal forces

I have used veg oil which has sat for 12 months or so, and the clarity and ease of dealing with it would seem to make it worth while.
    Would this be a batch or continuous type?
    cheers<BR>Chris.<BR>1990 landcruiser 80, 1HD-T two tank, copper pipe HE+ 20 plate FPHE, toyota solenoids and filters. 1978 300D, elsbett one tank system.<BR>

Comment

So my idea might have some validity. Good to know.
      I would first start with a batch unit, using stuff that you can get at any Bunnings or Warehouse.
      Continuous processing is a bit hard to start with.
      What I suggest is that I have a look around what parts are easily available (and cheap) and then post a possible design for everybody to comment.

Does anybody have connection to a chemist lab where a small sample can be put through these small centrifuges to determine what you exactly end up with?

Comment

Hi eddi,