Used cooking oil - Prep for use as fuel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Used cooking oil - Prep for use as fuel

Long term settling of used cooking oil prior to filtering for use as diesel fuel for Indirect injection diesel engine
    This is something I have been using for 10 years and have just now upgraded to Blue plastic chemical drums for the 2 settling drums.
    I put this presentation together so that others could make their own systems for removing the majority of contaminants from their veggie oil.

Used cooking oil preparation for use as diesel fuel.
    3 stages:
    1. Strain big lumps out
    2. Allow to settle to help remove small contaminants
    3. Filter to ensure the oil is clean enough to use as diesel fuel.

Suitable for indirect injection diesels in a single tank configuration or any diesels when using a 2 tank system, starting and shutting down on Diesel fuel.
    I am using a leaf strainer from a water tank. This normally sits in the top of the rainwater tank and the downpipe is positioned above the filter

In this application, I have cut the bottom off a 60 Litre steel drum and inverted the drum, into which this strainer sits.
    A 50mm BSP x 19mm BSP adaptor connects to the drum opening (which is now at the bottom of the strainer vessel).

Attached Files
    Tony From West Oz
    Vice Chairperson of WARFA
    Last edited by Tony From West Oz; 14 March 2024, 01:46 AM.
    Life is a journey, with problems to solve, lessons to learn, but most of all, experiences to enjoy.

Current Vehicles in stable:
    '06 Musso Sports 4X4 Manual Crew Cab tray back.
    '04 Rexton 4X4 Automatic SUV
    '2014 Toyota Prius (on ULP) - Wife's car

Previous Vehicles:
    '90 Mazda Capella. (2000 - 2003) My first Fatmobile. Converted to fun on veggie oil with a 2 tank setup.
    '80 Mercedes 300D. 2 tank conversion [Sold]