Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Methanol supplies

Hi
    I'm an absolute beginner and keen to have a go at a trial batch of BD. I'm stuck on trying to find a small quantity of methanol. Coogee Chemicals Kwinana will happily sell me 800 litres for $640, which is a great price but rather a lot for starters. Any tips anyone?
    Eric

Re: Methanol supplies

Hi Eric, methanol is used by the model aeroplane hobby and is mixed with oil and sometimes nitromethane to make a two stroke fuel for the model engines. If you ask at some of the hobby shops you might find one who will supply a quantity of methanol but make sure it is not mixed with any oil, you just want neat methanol. Most of them will have the fuel premixed and buy it in like that, but some carry bulk methanol for those that like to mix their own fuel.
    Another source could be people involved in racing cars, dragsters and the like. Some service stations here (QLD) sell 20ltrs for about $40.
    Regards
    Peter

Comment

Eric,
      The prices are a bit old, but try these companies:

Great Western Petroleum (Shell)
      22 Bracks St, Fremantle WA 6
      ph: (08) 9430 7888
      Methanol
      20L $43.00 ($2.15 @ litre)
      200L$214.50 ($1.07 @ litre)

Cooper & Dysart
      119 Kurnall Rd, Welshppol WA 6106
      ph: (08) 9351 8881
      Methanol
      20L $39.38 ($1.97 @ litre)
      200L$217.80 ($1.08 @ litre)

Recochem
      Bracks St, Fremantle WA
      ph: (08) 9433 4111
      DAA Ethanol (100% - no water)
      20L $93.50 ($4.68 @ litre)
      200L$327.80 ($1.64 @ litre)

Westfuel
      Ph: 08 9353 2566
      Methanol$183.50 per 200 L drum, delivered

BM Racing
      ph: 0419919343
      27 McIntyre Way, Kenwick
      200 ltr. Drum of methanol for $210.00

Please let us know how you get on.
      Tony
      Life is a journey, with problems to solve, lessons to learn, but most of all, experiences to enjoy.

Current Vehicles in stable: