What types of oil are OK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What types of oil are OK

i am just getting started with making bio and have come across a potential problem. i have been collecting used cooking oil and it struck me that its animal fat and not veg oil. can bio be made using animal fat and if it can is it the same process as using veg oil.

While im at it is there anything i should be looking out for as far as used oil goes?

thanks Ben

Re: What types of oil are OK

Yes you can make bio from tallow (animal fat). I forgot to check where you live but you may want to use bio made from tallow only i summer. It will gell below 10 - 15 degrees.
    Joe Morgan
    Brisbane Biodiesel Site Admin
    http://www.brisbanebiodiesel.com

Searching tips using Google - SVO Dual tank systems
    SVO, Common Rail and Direct Injection - Vehicles converted to Used Cooking Oil

Comment

D1,
      Ditto, but you may actually have a vegetable oil which has been modified to raise its melting point and make it more stable in the fryer, rathwer than an animal fat. "Hydrogenation" adds a hydtrogen atom to each of the carbon chains, to saturate the oil, raising its melting point.
      It may have some liquid or low melting point oils in it also, so if you make biodiesel from it, allow it to settle over a time and check for layers of white biodiesel (solidified) and liquid biodiesel.

Ths liquid biodiesel can be decanted from the solid or filtered thru a cleanable filter, if it is a slurry. Keep the solid biodiesel, it makes a good high energy summer fuel while the liquid biodiesel is a good winter fuel.

Hope this helps,
      Tony
      Life is a journey, with problems to solve, lessons to learn, but most of all, experiences to enjoy.

Current Vehicles in stable:
      '06 Musso Sports 4X4 Manual Crew Cab tray back.
      '04 Rexton 4X4 Automatic SUV
      '2014 Toyota Prius (on ULP) - Wife's car

Previous Vehicles: