Home heating using Veggie Oil

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home heating using Veggie Oil

I have been using veggie oil to heat our home for a few years now.
    I am running a converted slow combustion wood stove on used cooking oil.
    It uses an air blower, which provides air for the combustion and a copper pipe in the airflow carries the fuel into the burner bowl (High Temperature Stainless Steel) where combustion occurs.
    In our house, we have a wet back in the fire to boost our hot water system in Winter.
    I have a circulation pump to circulate the hot water to 3 hydronic radiators in the house. I can vary the speed of water circulation using a light dimmer. This allows me to concentrate on boosting the hot water system, or both boosting and home heating.
    The fuel is in a large storage tank on the outside wall of the house and I have a fuel filter and a small 12v fuel pump to provide pressure to push the oil thru the valves and into the burner bowl.
    I have a thermostat, monitoring the temperature of the water as it leaves the stove. I normally have it set at 60°C, but can set it higher or lower as required. The thermostat switches controls 2 solenoid valves which sends the oil flow to either of 2 needle valves, which set the low and high oil flow rates.
    On the high setting, the burner bowl glows cherry red.

Oil consumption is about 1.5 to 2 litres per hour.

Check out my you tube videos

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiQ8nhQjTxAs9MCSwUutblw

The first one is the prototype system which proved the concept and was outdoors to avoid accidental incineration of our home.
    The second video is when I converted the slow combustion stove to use cooking oil. Since then, I have had a cupboard made to cover the plumbing and electrical bits and moved the blower outside the house to reduce the noise levels.