What is this stuff?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is this stuff?

Hi all. Calling all experts! I'm a newbie but I've made a couple of batches of BD - checked out OK (water test, Warnqvist etc) Running my wifes VW tdi on 50/50 - changed fuel filter etc. all looks fine.
    However - Third batch. after mixing meth. and starting conversion I discovered my electronic scales were malfunctioning - I carried the process to conclusion and then to check results reprocessed one litre BD using 10% Meth. 3.5g NaOH. Results showed a further estimated 5-8% fallout of glyc. etc.
    I then reprocessed the entire batch using the above ratios.
    After cool down I noticed a "skin"forming on top of the liquid in the processor. - I removed this but the more of this "stuff" I removed, the more it reformed. Huh - what is this stuff? Have I invented some new kind of plastic!
    I also did a water test and got an emulsion that hasn't cleared after three hours?
    What's happened? Is resultant BD worth washing? etc. Any advice, comment etc. would be appreciated.
    Cheers, Big G.

Re: What is this stuff?

Way to many variables in this post to begin to troubleshoot.

You haven't said how meth you use or how much NaOH.

The skin sounds like a soap forming. When you've removed it, does it dry and stay hard or could you wash your hands with it?

Maybe you could offer more detailed descriptions about the batch that you feel went wrong.

Cheers
    Joe Morgan
    Brisbane Biodiesel Site Admin
    http://www.brisbanebiodiesel.com

Searching tips using Google - SVO Dual tank systems
    SVO, Common Rail and Direct Injection - Vehicles converted to Used Cooking Oil

Comment

[quote=joe;17067]Way to many variables in this post to begin to troubleshoot.

Dear Joe, Original process = 100lt WVO - usual source - tested re water
      + 20lt Methanol + 6.25 g NaOh - as indicated by titration - added as methoxide. processed one hour @ 50 - 55c